Funeral Industry News Funeral Industry Press Releases

Selected Independent Funeral Homes Declares Board Members

April 18, 2016

Selected Independent Funeral Homes Declares Board Members

DEERFIELD, Ill. — April 18, 2016 —Selected Independent Funeral Homes has announced the appointment of new Board Members to lead the world’s largest and oldest association of independently-owned funeral homes. Selected’s Board Member Appointment Committee chose the new Directors who, together with the newly-elected Officers, will be installed later this year at the 98th Annual Meeting, Sept. 14-17 at the Grand Floridian in Orlando, Fla.

Kim Farris-Luke of Farris Funeral Service Inc. in Abingdon, Va. will serve as the new Group 3 representative. She is a 4th generation funeral professional with 24 years of experience who has served on numerous nonprofit boards and committees.  She frequently speaks at seminars and teaches classes in the community focusing on bereavement support, advanced planning, “green” service and cremation options.

Farris-Luke hopes to use her role on the board as an opportunity to build relationships and serve as the voice for her Group. She is also interested in facilitating more networking opportunities which connect new members with more senior members.

Joe Jackson Jr. of Jackson Funeral Homes in Laredo, Texas will be the representative for Group 5. Jackson has served on the board of South Texas Funeral Directors and the Texas Funeral Directors Association.  Jackson Funeral Home is a 4th generation family business and Jackson’s two children also are actively involved in the business.

“My firm and I have received great benefit from Selected and serving on the Board is like returning a favor,” said Jackson. “Selected is so much more proactive than when we first joined the organization. I am a firm believer in advancing and improving funeral service and look forward to supporting these efforts.”

The entire 2017 Board of Directors includes President Mark T. Higgins, Durham, N.C., Group 3;  Secretary-Treasurer J Mitchell, Kilgore, Texas, Group 5; President-Elect Neil O’Connor, Laguna Hills, Calif., Group 6; Secretary-Treasurer-Elect Ann Ciccarelli, Saugus, Mass., Group 1;  Charles “Chip” Billow, Akron, Ohio, Group 2; Lisa Baue, St. Charles, Mo., Group 4 and Ex Officio Brad Speaks, Independence, Mo., Group 4.

For more information on Selected’s programs, becoming a member of Selected Independent Funeral Homes or to locate a member, visit or call 800-323-4219.